Breckling Press – Folded Flowers by Kumiko Sudo


Folded Flowers by Kumiko Sudo is an interesting and beautiful book that shows how fabric and ribbon can be used just like paper to make orimai decorations for purses. The book includes 24 three-dimensional flower designs and complete patterns for six exquisite purses. I decided to play around with a piece of my of my grandmother’s left over fabric that is shown in the previous post. In reading the directions Sudo says that finger pressing the seams works fine. Unfortunetly it did not work well for me. I am adding several photographs of the flower (Plox) that I tried to make. Just in case you are wondering I used one layer of a clean napkin that I had laying nearby as the pattern tissue. And my hand sewing is atrocious. Needless to say this has to be completey reworked and I will use an iron to press the seams down next time.

http://www.brecklingpress.com




This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

